Safe Zone

Safe Zone LogoA person displaying the Safe Zone symbol is someone who will be understanding, supportive & trustworthy if a gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, or questioning student or colleague needs help, advice, or someone with whom to talk.

Safe Zone Coordinators

Ivory K. Dunlap ACE ivory.dunlap@bc3.edu Ext. 8439
Morgan Rizzardi Admissions morgan.rizzardi@bc3.edu Ext. 8274
Dr. Karen Stubenbort Faculty karen.stubenbort@bc3.edu Ext. 8164
Melissa Philson Faculty melissa.philson@bc3.edu Ext. 8269
Susan Davis BC3 @ Lawrence Crossing susan.davis@bc3.edu Ext. 7003

Safe Zone Members

 
Pamela Achenbach Novak PT Faculty pamela.achenbach@bc3.edu  
Cindy Betres PT Faculty cindy.betres@bc3.edu Ext. 6682
Michael Dittman FT Faculty mike.dittman@bc3.edu Ext. 8251
Tina Fleeger Human Resources tina.fleeger@bc3.edu Ext. 8291
Arlene Gardopee PT Faculty arlene.gardopee@bc3.edu Ext. 6765
Karen Jack KEYS Program karen.jack@bc3.edu Ext. 8378
Lexie Jones ACE lexie.jones@bc3.edu Ext. 8395
Sherri Jurysta FT Faculty sherri.jurysta@bc3.edu Ext. 8204
Stephanie Long PT Faculty stephanie.long@bc3.edu Ext. 6232
Greg Mason ACE greg.mason@bc3.edu Ext. 8327
Mary McGinnis ACE mary.mcginnis@bc3.edu Ext. 8264
Erika Nail FT Faculty erika.nail@bc3.edu Ext. 8387
Dr. Joshua Novak Dean/ACE joshua.novak@bc3.edu Ext. 8045
Torey O'Donnell Student Life torey.odonnell@bc3.edu Ext. 8423
Sherri Osborne Student Life sherr.osborne@bc3.edu Ext. 8448
Diane Ratti FT Faculty diane.ratti@bc3.edu Ext. 8361
Jennifer Sarabok FT Faculty jennifer.sarabok@bc3.edu Ext. 7011
Jeffrey Schrader PT Faculty jeffrey.schrader@bc3.edu  
Kim Smith Registration kim.smith@bc3.edu Ext. 8325
Deborah Stage FT Faculty deborah.stage@bc3.edu Ext. 7009
Dr. Case Willoughby Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management case.willoughby@bc3.edu Ext. 8261

On Campus Safe Zone Resources

Campus Assessment Response & Evaluation (CARE)Team: If you hear anyone say they want to hurt themselves or anyone else, or if you are having these feelings yourself, contact the CARE Team. Our CARE Team members are here to help you. You can talk to any of our team members and they will check it out.  


Campus Police: Located in the Student Success Center, the BC3 Campus Police Department exists to protect and serve the students, faculty, staff and visitors of the college, while maintaining a safe atmosphere to help encourage normal and intellectual growth. The campus police department is responsible for law enforcement on campus, and the officers are vested with all the powers, authority and responsibility of any police officer of the commonwealth on property owned or operated by the college, including immediate adjacent public roads and property. Phone Number: 724-287-8711 x8394


Dr. Case Willoughby
Vice President for Student Affairs and Enrollment Management:
Email: case.willoughby@bc3.edu
Phone: 724.287.8711 x8261

Resources in Butler County

 

Butler-Armstrong AIDS Alliance: Provides free confidential AIDS testing and support.

112 Hillview Dr.
Butler, PA 16001
Phone: 724.283.3636 or 1.800.531.1793

Butler LGBTQ Interfaith Network: The Butler LGBTQ Interfaith Network is a collaborative of clergy, congregations and laity who affirm the spirituality of all Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgendered and Questioning people and provide pastoral care and education on LGBTQ issues. Phone Number: 1.888.873.7723 x218

Center for Community Resources: The Mission of Center for Community Resources is to make a positive difference in everyday lives by connecting people to a network of supports and services essential for actively learning, working and living in the community.

212-214 South Main Street
Butler, PA 16001
Website: www.ccrinfo.org
Crisis Hotline: 1.800.292.3866

Slippery Rock University Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Questioning (LGBTQ) Resource Center: The LGBTQ Resource Center Offers a nice space to relax and read LGBTQ resources or watch LGBTQ movies/documentaries. Located on lower floor of Student Union, hours vary by semester. Phone: 724.738.4378

Slippery Rock University’s RockOUT: RockOUT (formally LGBTA) was created to provide an opportunity for personal growth and education regarding an LGBT orientation and to extend an opportunity for social interaction among members of the gay, lesbian, and bisexual, and transgender community and their allies. RockOUT meets in the Women’s Center at Slippery Rock University. All are welcome! Phone: 724.738.2939

PFLAG (Parents, Family and Friends of Lesbians and Gays) – Butler Chapter: An international organization with many chapters that provide support to GLBT individuals and family members. Some chapters have monthly meetings, speakers’ bureaus, social events and/or annual conferences. Phone: 724.290.9674

Resources in Lawrence County

Clover Psychological Association: Provides confidential counseling to LGBTQ individuals in the New Castle area.

3030 Wilmington Road
New Castle, PA 16105
Website: http://www.cloverpsychological.com/new_castle_office
Phone: 724.658.9398
Alternate Emergency Phone: 724.971.1231

People in Need: General counseling and mental health/referral services open to all populations.

2703 West State Street
New Castle, PA 16101
Website: http://www.pinpa.org/index.html
Phone: 724.657.3303

Resources in Pittsburgh and Beyond

There is a wide array of social, religious, service, and political organizations in the Pittsburgh area. The following key resources can provide additional GLBT information:

American Civil Liberties Union of Pennsylvania: The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) is the nation’s foremost guardian of liberty. It is a nonprofit, nonpartisan organization dedicated to defending and protecting individual rights and personal freedoms. Through advocacy, education and litigation, ACLU attorneys, advocates and volunteers work to preserve and promote civil liberties including the freedom of speech, the right to privacy, reproductive freedom, and equal treatment under the law. There is a Northwest PA Chapter and an office in Pittsburgh. Call them toll-free at 1.877.PGH.ACLU (744.2258) or in Pittsburgh at 412.681.7736

Dreams of Hope: Through the arts, Dreams of Hope develops lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and allied youth leaders who promote social change by educating audiences. Based in Pittsburgh, PA.

Gay and Lesbian Community Center: Located in Squirrel Hill (east side of Pittsburgh), this organization provides resources for the GLBT community such as an information phoneline (412.422.0114), meeting spaces for many Pittsburgh GLBT organizations, Friday night youth group (7:00pm - 11pm, ages 14 -18), youthline (412.422.0114), library, and a newsletter.

210 Grant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
E-mail: center@glccpgh.org

GLAAD (The Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation): amplifies the voice of the LGBT community by empowering real people to share their stories, holding the media accountable for the words and images they present, and helping grassroots organizations communicate effectively. By ensuring that the stories of LGBT people are heard through the media, GLAAD promotes understanding, increases acceptance, and advances equality.

GLENDA: GLENDA fosters appreciation of gays, lesbians and all people by working together with diverse communities to make western Pennsylvania a better place to live.

210 Grant Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15219
Telephone: 412.422.1303
Email: info@glenda.org

Human Rights Campaign: The Human Rights Campaign represents a grassroots force of over 750,000 members and supporters nationwide. As the largest national lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender civil rights organization, HRC envisions an America where LGBT people are ensured of their basic equal rights, and can be open, honest and safe at home, at work and in the community. Based in Washington, DC, the HRC can be reached toll-free at 800.777.4723

Persad: Located in the Garfield area of Pittsburgh, this is a full service community mental health facility which provides services to the GLBT community and their significant others, as well as a full range of services for HIV+ individuals and their significant others.

5150 Penn Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15223
Phone: 412.441.9786

PFLAG (Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays): An international organization with many chapters that provide support to GLBT individuals and family members. Some chapters have monthly meetings, speakers’ bureaus, social events and/or annual conferences.

PFLAG Butler: http://butlerpflag.weebly.com/
PFLAG Pittsburgh: www.pflagpgh.org

Pittsburgh AIDS Taskforce: An organization that states its mission to be the leader in providing innovative support services to improve the health and quality of life for all individuals living with HIV/AIDS and to be relentless in preventing the spread of the virus.

5913 Penn Avenue, 2nd floor
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
Phone: 412.345.7456
Toll-Free: 1.888.204.8821.

Pittsburgh’s OUT: A monthly newspaper serving the LGBT Tri-state area.
E-mail: out@oupub.com
Phone: 412.381.3350

Renaissance City Choirs (RCC): The Renaissance City Choirs’ mission is to promote a positive image of the GLBT community and to be a leading contributor to the cultural life of the tri-state area. They seek to build bridges both within the GLBT community and with the community at large. Their programming blends challenging contemporary music; commissions of new works; an ambitious, traditional repertoire; and music from various world cultures. They seek to educate, challenge and enlighten both our audiences and our singing membership. They continue to affirm, by example and through song, the worth and dignity of sexual minorities. Music that is gay-positive and openly supports issues related to human equality and justice is represented at all concerts.

116 S Highland Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15206
E-mail: rcc@rccpittsburgh.org
Phone: 412.362.9484

The Delta Foundation of Pittsburgh: The Delta Foundation produces events and supports projects that help make the Pittsburgh a vibrant and exciting city that is attractive to the LGBT community. These include Pittsburgh Pride, (PITTSBURGH) RED on World AIDS Day, a Memorial Day Picnic, various fundraising events, and its newest project, Equality Partners of Western Pennsylvania. Phone: 412.246.4451

The Trevor Project: Leading national organization providing crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and questioning youth. Phone: 1.866.4.U.TREVOR (1.866.488.7386)